Skip navigation Scroll to top

Scroll to top

LGT sponsorship in Austria

Through its commitment to society at large, LGT Bank Austria pursues its aim of creating long-term, reliable value.

The LGT Media Prize 2017 goes to Elisabeth Woditschka (Forbes)

LGT Media Prize 2017 with H.S.H. Prinz Philipp von und zu Liechtenstein (Chairman LGT), Elisabeth Woditschka (Forbes), Gerald Gärtner (Der Standard), Stefanie Kompatscher (Die Presse), Dietmar Baumgartner und Meinhard Platzer (Co_CEO’s LGT Bank Österreich)
More information LGT Media Prize 2017 with H.S.H. Prinz Philipp von und zu Liechtenstein (Chairman LGT), Elisabeth Woditschka (Forbes), Gerald Gartner (Der Standard), Stefanie Kompatscher (Die Presse), Dietmar Baumgartner and Meinhard Platzer (Co-CEO’s LGT Bank Österreich)

Three young financial journalists were awarded the LGT Media Prize for world-class economic reporting in Vienna's Liechtenstein City Palace on February 21, 2017. LGT's chairman, H.S.H. Prince Philipp von und zu Liechtenstein, presented the winners one first prize and two recognition prizes.

The first prize went to Elisabeth Woditschka (Forbes) for her article'Der Wert der Autonomie' (The value of autonomy), which sees the author consider innovative medical device technology designed to mobilize people with paraplegia.

Stefanie Kompatscher received the first recognition prize for her article 'Estland: ein Staat auf Dauerdiät' (Estonia: A country on a continuous diet), which was published in 'Die Presse'. The LGT Media Prize judging panel commended the balanced account of the current situation in Estonia and the exhaustive research that went into it.

The second recognition prize went to Gerald Gartner (Der Standard) for his article 'Alter, Bildung, Geschlecht: Wer wieviel verdient' (Age, education, gender: how much is earned by who). According to the judging panel, the article is an exhaustive examination of data and confirms or refutes prejudices, making it truly informative for the reader. Co-author Markus Hametner and Gerald Gartner throw light on the general dissatisfaction with personal income.

This year sees LGT Bank Austria award the LGT Media Prize for the sixth time. "In awarding the LGT Media Prize, we recognize how important dedicated, expert journalism is to the understanding of economic structures and trends. LGT Bank Austria wants to award this prize to and foster journalists who are already capable of mastering such challenges at a young age," said co-CEO of LGT Bank Austria Meinhard Platzer in his welcoming address. A total of 6,000 euro is set aside for the LGT Media Prize. Competition rules for the LGT Media Prize 2018 will be announced in the summer.

LGT Bank Austria supports Teach For Austria as part of the "100 and 1 Partnership"

More information Petra Pajic and her class in Vienna get support by LGT Bank Österreich. (Foto: Doka)

Teach For Austria campaigns for equal opportunities in the educational system and fosters children and adolescents from low-income and educationally disadvantaged families.

To achieve this, Teach For Austria recruits university graduates who stand out both on a personal and on a professional level. After thorough educational preparation, they teach as fully-fledged teachers (fellows) for at least two years in urban secondary schools and 'new middle schools' that are subjected to an exceptionally high social burden. During this period, they are supported by experienced trainers.

LGT Bank Austria supports Fellow Petra Pajic, who teaches in a polytechnic in Vienna's 20th district. Like every fellow, she helps some 100 children to make up for deficits in performance at school each year.

Visit for more information

Entrepreneur of the Year 2016

More information (f.l.t.r.) Helmut Maukner (Country Managing Partner EY Österreich), Mag. Martin Prinz (CROMA-PHARMA GmbH), H.S.H. Princess Marie von und zu Liechtenstein (Marketing & Sales International, Princely Wine Cellar Liechtenstein), Mag. Andreas Prinz (CROMA-PHARMA GmbH), Meinhard Platzer (Co-CEO LGT Bank Österreich), Dr. Dieter Waldmann (Executive Director EY responsible for Entrepreneur of the Year), Josef Zotter (Zotter Schokoladen Manufaktor)

The 'Entrepreneur of the Year Award' honors the world's most successful and innovative small and medium-sized enterprises. Sponsored by Ernst & Young in 50 countries, the award is one of the highest accolades for entrepreneurs. Ernst & Young awarded this prestigious prize in Austria for the eleventh time on October 6, 2016 in Vienna's Hofburg Palace in front of some 350 guests from business, politics, and society.

LGT Bank Austria has now supported the presentation of the 'Entrepreneur of the Year Award' for ten years. "We seek to pay tribute to the performance and innovation of outstanding companies in Austria and our involvement here is one way of achieving that. This is very important to us for we are convinced that small and medium-sized enterprises, in particular, are a key factor in the success of our economy and a guarantee for stability and long-term growth," said the two co-CEOs of LGT Bank Austria, Dietmar Baumgartner and Meinhard Platzer.

In this year's competition, Andreas Prinz and Martin Prinz of CROMA-PHARMA GmbH were chosen to represent Austria at the 'World Entrepreneur of the Year Award', which will be held at Monte Carlo in June 2017.

The finalists and winners:

The Industry & High-Tech Category

  • Winners and representatives at the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award: Andreas Prinz and Martin Prinz (CROMA-PHARMA GmbH)
  • Finalists: Karl-Heinz Strauss (PORR AG); Gertrude Schatzdorfer-Wölfel (Schatzdorfer Gerätebau GmbH & Co KG)

The Trade & Consumer Goods Category

  • Winner: Hans-Georg Hagleitner (Hagleitner Hygiene International GmbH)
  • Finalists: Erwin Kotányi (Kotányi GmbH); Gabriela Lemberger and Burkhard Ernst (RAINER Wirtschaftsgüter Vermietungs GmbH)

The Services Category

  • Winner: Johann Rohrer (Rohrer Beteiligungs- und Verwaltungs GmbH)
  • Finalists: Alfred Krobath und Franz Grünwald (PMS Elektro- und Automationstechnik GmbH); Anton Mörwald (Mörwald Holding GmbH)

The Start-Up Category

  • Winner: Michael Moosburger and Andreas Rößl (imagotag GmbH)
  • Finalists: Reinhold Baudisch and Michael Doberer ( YOUSURE Tarifvergleich GmbH); Karl Edlbauer, Simon Tretter and Daniel Laiminger (hokify JobSwipr GmbH) 

Special Award for Generations

  • Friedrich Santner (Anton Paar GmbH)

"The market for information is becoming bigger and more diverse all the time. This makes the media, which filter, contextualize, explain and comment on it, all the more important. By presenting the LGT Media Prize to outstanding young journalists, we hope to raise awareness of the importance of a free press."

Meinhard Platzer and Dietmar Baumgartner, Co-CEOs LGT Bank Österreich